Archdiocese of Rabaul

(Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Rabaul, Papua New Guinea)

Kokopo, East New Britain Province

Kokopo is the capital of East New Britain in Papua New Guinea. The capital was moved from Rabaul in 1994 when the volcanoes Tavurvur and Vulcan erupted. As a result, the population of the town increased more than sixfold from 3,150 in 1990 to 20,262 in 2000.

Kokopo was known as Herbertshöhe during the German New Guinea administration which controlled the area between 1884 and 1914. Until 1910 it was the capital of the German colonial administration.

Kokopo, East New Britain Province, Portion 601, Kokopo, East New Britain, 611, Papua New Guinea
Portion 601
Kokopo East New Britain 611 Papua New Guinea

Hours of operation:
07:30AM - 04:30PM
Monday - Friday


Email address:
Map and Directions